The Gulf of Guinea Commission

The Gulf of Guinea Commission was established by the Treaty signed in Libreville, Gabon, on 3 July 2001 by Angola, Congo, Gabon, Nigeria and Sao Tome and Principe.

It constituted in a permanent Institutional framework for cooperation amongst the countries bordering the Gulf of Guinea in order to defend their common interest and promote peace and socio-economic development based on the bases of dialogue, consensus, ties of friendship, solidarity and fraternity.

Cameroun and Democratic Republic of Congo joined the Gulf of Guinea Commission in 2008. Membership of Gulf of Guinea Commission is open to other states in the Gulf of Guinea region for purposes of transforming the sub region into a Zone of Peace and Security.